Everythingspa’s Blog

CNYSPAGIRL blogs about all things spa

Review of Manlius Massage Day Spa (Manlius, NY) April 19, 2009

8195 Cazenovia Road (Route 92)
Manlius, NY  13104

315-682-1730

Email: manliusdayspa1@yahoo.com

Manlius Massage Day Spa is located in the Millstone Building in Manlius, NY.  It is a clean and comfortable no frills setting with an emphasis on deep tissue therapeutic massage, relaxation therapy and the latest skincare technology. 

The two therapists that I met (Darcie and Lake) were super friendly and personable.  Darcie greeted me and offered me bottled water as I began to fill out my pre-treatment medical form. 

The treatment menu consists of therapeutic massage, hot stone therapy, skincare, waxing and body treatments/steam therapy.  A 60 minute therapeutic massage is $65.

As a first time client, I had a complimentary Express Facial (30 minutes) with Lake and a complimentary 30 minute massage with Darcie, which I upgraded to an hour long full body massage for $40.

The massage began with Darcie placing hot packs across my shoulders and back.   The packs stayed in place throughout the lower body massage, which was a treat.  I immediately noticed the massage table was very cushioned and really comfortable and it was covered in a down or down alternative comforter in addition to sheets.  It felt like a great bed at a luxury hotel.   The massage was great.  An hour goes by so fast!

I loved my 30 minute Express Facial with Lake, a Paramedical Aesthetician who was trained at the Aesthetic Science Institute.  The facial consisted of steam, basic cleansing with products from Rhonda Allison, enzymes, a facial massage, and a mask.  While the mask was working, Lake covered my face with gauze.  Then she used cold ice globes, which provided a cool finishing touch to my skin. 

Magic Globes

Ice globes are made from Pyrex glass and are filled with an anti-freeze solution and then stored in the freezer.  The Aesthetician uses them by applying a rolling motion over the face at the end of a treatment.  I loved this portion of the treatment and had never experienced it before.

Oxygen ending – At the end of the treatment, Lake used a machine that sprays atomized moisture onto my skin using a stream of pressurized oxygen.  It felt moist and cool and was a surprisingly pleasant ending to a great express facial.

I was sent home with package of carry on size Rhonda Allison Healthy Aging System products for normal to oily skin to try.  I look forward to testing the Pumpkin Cleanser, Pumpkin Rinse, Growth Factor Serum, Antioxidant Complex Serum and SPF30 Sunscreen. 

I really enjoyed having back-to-back treatments.  The Express Facial was a nice complement to the full body massage.  I must have been totally blissed out, because I left without paying for my massage upgrade and without leaving  a much deserved gratuity for my therapists.  As you can imagine, I was horrified when I got to my car and discovered my error!  I immediately corrected my blunder and returned to the spa with payment in hand.  We had a good laugh about it, but it made me wonder – Is  “spa and dash” anywhere near as common as “dine and dash”?   I sure hope not!

 

3 Responses to “Review of Manlius Massage Day Spa (Manlius, NY)”

  1. […] as a first time client for a hour long massage with Darcy.  I’ll be sure to report back on my experience.   Comments […]

  2. Sara Says:

    Hey there, Glad you had a chance to visit, I love getting my massage there, and find it hard to go other massage therapist. I end up very disappointed at other spas. I find the deep tissue to help with my back pain, and love the fact that it’s very convenient to get to.


Leave a Reply

