Everythingspa’s Blog

CNYSPAGIRL blogs about all things spa

A healing visit to Belladerma Wellness Spa (Brewerton, NY) August 19, 2009

Belladerma Wellness Spa

Belladerma Wellness Spa

After my first visit to Belladerma Wellness Spa in March ’09, I wrote a well deserved glowing review.  When I visited more recently, I didn’t intend to write about my experience at all. My body was sore from too much time spent hunched over my laptop, tired from not enough sleep and stressed from a difficult month during which a close family member lost a courageous battle with cancer.  I needed healing and I instinctively knew where to get it!

I made a distress call to Ann LaTocha, owner of Belladerma Wellness Spa.  “I need healing” I said.  I left the rest up to her.  I was game for anything.  I just wanted to feel better and a traditional massage wasn’t going to cut it.

Ann is an Esthetician, Reiki Master, Aromatherapist, Aromatherapy and Aesthetics Instructor. As I noted in my original review of Belladerma, I was in excellent hands.

I didn’t know what to expect from a Reiki session.  According to Belladerma’s website, “Reiki is a form of energy work that is simple, effective, and powerful for natural healing. It helps to alleviate pain, reduce stress and fatigue, and increase emotional clarity and focus. Reiki is wonderful for harmonizing and balancing the body.”  This is exactly what I needed.

Reiki can be referred to as “laying of the hands”.  It is low touch, almost no pressure.  Minimal strokes are light and feathery. Ann combined the Reiki with a blend of essential oils for a soothing aromatic Reiki session.  The Reiki session was intermixed with an exfoliating body treatment.

I finished my visit at Belladerma with a takeout lunch from The Brick House Cafe, located on the first level of the building that houses Oneida Lake Artisans and Belladerma Wellness Spa.  I enjoyed a Waldorf Salad sandwich on apple oat nut bread. Oneida Lake Artisans is a neat place offering jewelry, glass, drawings, clothing and other handcrafted items from New York State artisans.

Belladerma Wellness Spa

Belladerma Wellness Spa

 

One Response to “A healing visit to Belladerma Wellness Spa (Brewerton, NY)”

  1. Miki Says:

    For the December issue of http://besttravelwebsites.com we are compiling a list of 11 top Wellness Vacations for 2011. Please submit packages/retreats with a specific health/wellness focus and those that are available on specific dates in 2011. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

