Everythingspa’s Blog

CNYSPAGIRL blogs about all things spa

Lomi Lomi Massage September 12, 2009

Filed under: day spa,Massage,Spa Treatment — everythingspa @ 11:59 am
Tags: , , , , ,
SpaZend, Syracuse NY

SpaZend, Syracuse NY

As I made my way down the candlelit hallway of SpaZend toward the relaxation room, I knew the drumming music I heard was especially for me.  I was scheduled to have my first Lomi Lomi massage and I’d been told that the massage would “different” than massages I’d experienced before.  (You can read my full review from my first visit to SpaZend here.)  In fact, you can take just about everything you know about traditional massage and put it aside for now – Lomi Lomi is anything but traditional.

The SpaZend website describes Lomi Lomi (50 minutes, $95) as a “traditional healing Hawaiian massage which serves to break down muscle tension and blocked energies. It is a unique, fast-paced massage “dance,” with elongated, flowing strokes and rhythmic patterns. Lomi Lomi, meaning “to break into small pieces”, helps to revive the body, remove toxins and facilitate myofacial release.”

My therapist Trudy confirmed that the drumming music was indeed for me.  During the 50 minute massage, Trudy used four basic strokes set to the somewhat fast-paced beat of the music.  Kneading, forearms and thumb techniques created long, fluid strokes that didn’t conform to a set pattern.  Assisted stretching, rocking, and what felt like dancing of the hands completed the experience.  Indeed it was like nothing I’d experienced before.

 

4 Responses to “Lomi Lomi Massage”

  1. Sounds wonderful. I will be taking a class to learn how to give a traditional Lomi Lomi Massage.

    When I lived in Hawaii, I had a friend who know how to give Lomi Lomi. Ohhhhh, he was great. It just feels so complete…that’s the only way I know how to describe it.

    I’m glad that you had a good experience.

  2. everythingspa Says:

    H Danna – My favorite part was the music. It’s wonderful that you’ll be learning this modality – it’s tought to find a therapist who can give this massage.

    Michele

  3. Gaelle Says:

    I had several lomilomi and now learnt to give it. The lomilomi has a ritual and a whole story behind. You indeed call your ancestors to guide you through your life and give you clues about what to do. It is not just a massage. If you have the spiritual experience with it, you surely ended crying on the table. It heals the spirit of people. Did you get that part of the massage? This was used in hawain for teenagers entering adulthood. It is a spiritual work.

  4. […] Healing Powers of Lomi Lomi MassagesThe Special Advantages and Healing Powers of Lomi Lomi MassagesLomi Lomi Massage .page-title { -pie-background: linear-gradient(left top, #0F2D4D, #2880C3 ); background: #0F2D4D; […]


Leave a Reply

